A license for marriage in Virginia is issued by the clerk or his/her deputy clerk of a circuit court in any county or city in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The ceremony may be performed anywhere in the State. Applicants must, under oath, furnish information required to complete the marriage record.
The applicant may be subject to prosecution for perjury for violation of the portion of the statutes which requires this information. For divorced persons, there is no statutory waiting period before marriage after the divorce is granted unless remarriage is specifically prohibited by a court. In some cases, clerks may require documentary proof of age or termination of previous marriage.
Marriage licenses are issued in the Spotsylvania Circuit Court Clerk's Office in the Records Room at: Spotsylvania Circuit Court 9107 Judicial Center Lane Spotsylvania, VA 22553
Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m, Monday through Friday and on the 1st and 3rd Saturdays of each month from 9 a.m. to Noon (unless holiday weekend). We request that you come at least 1/2 hour before closing to allow enough time to complete your application.
Both parties must appear at the Clerk's Office with proper identification, i.e. valid driver's license, passport or military identification. The fee is $32.50 for the license and one certified copy, payable by cash or check. The license must be used within 60 days of issuance.
Marriages are not performed by the Clerk's Office, however, a list of Marriage Commissioners appointed in Spotsylvania County is available on the top left tab and at the Circuit Court Clerk's Office.