You may apply in person at the Circuit Court Clerk's office for a Virginia Resident Concealed Handgun Permit. You must complete the application (which can also be provided to you in our office) and provide proof of completion of an approved handgun safety course, or its equivalent. For questions regarding acceptable classes/qualifications please consult the Virginia State Police website, or contact our office by phone at 540-507-7609. You will need to bring a photo ID and the processing fee of $15.00 (cash, check, or money order). The fee is $15.45 if paying with a credit/debit card. Please be advised that this fee is non-refundable. Once your permit is approved and ready, we will mail it to you and you will need to sign it once you receive it. We will laminate your handgun permit for free. The law allows 45 days from the date the application submitted either for approval or denial.
If you wish to renew your current Virginia Resident Concealed Handgun Permit, you can apply in person or by mail. To apply for renewal by mail, complete the current application and mail it in with a copy of your current permit along with payment of $15.00. Renewal applicants must provide a self-addressed, stamped envelope for this office to be able to return the new permit.
Appeals (Denied Concealed Handgun Permit)
If you have been denied a Residential Concealed Handgun Permit, you have the right to appeal that decision. You must make your appeal in writing through the Circuit Court within twenty-one (21) days from the date of denial. At that time a hearing will be scheduled for you to go before a Judge for reconsideration.
Non-Resident Concealed permits are not issued at this office. You must contact the Virginia State Police.